Classes

 

Poetry Project

Ages: 11 -18 | Length of Class: 6 weeks

Description: Are you a young, budding poet?  Are you curious about the various kinds of poems and what poetry is?  Or perhaps you need to learn some of the basics but are not ready for the upper-level Poetry class?  If so, then Poetry Project is for you!  This class will serve as an introductory overview unit of poetry and will teach some of the basic poetry forms.  You also will read poems and write basic poetry.  As you practice writing poems in these forms, you will be building your own booklet of poetry.  By the end of the session, you will have created a poetry project portfolio.  This class is appropriate for all ages and levels of expertise, as you will be required to include only the basics but can make your project as complex as you wish. Edits will be required as needed to help ensure poems are in the proper form. Since you will be compiling a portfolio for the poetry project, the final assignment will necessitate some layout (inclusion of pictures or clipart, formatting, etc.) as well.

Time required: Approximately two hours per lesson, plus up to 1 hour online class times as indicated.

Method: Students will download and print weekly lessons from a passworded website. We will “meet” as a class online once a week to discuss the lesson and share any questions or ideas. Assignments will be typed in Microsoft Word and will be sent via e-mail attachment. Instructor will make edits and return to students for revisions, and they will then return them to instructor again.

Prerequisites: Ability to type using Microsoft Word and ability to follow assignment guidelines requiring specific formats for the various kinds of poems.  (Students must be eligible for Narrative or a higher class to enroll in the summer Poetry Project.)

Registration: To register for this class, please see the listed available days and times below and select a class that fits your schedule. Click on enroll to add the class to the shopping cart. When you are finished adding all your classes to the shopping cart, click on view cart to begin registration. If you have questions about the registration process or need help, please contact us.

 Available Classes

Poetry Project - Tuesdays (summer)

First Class Date: May 20, 2014

6 a.m. Hawaii | 8 a.m. Alaska | 9 a.m. Pacific | 10 a.m. Mountain | 11 a.m. Central | 12 noon Eastern | 5 p.m. U.K.

  • Sessions Schedule

    Summer 2014
    Registration opens April 15th.
    Session dates: May 19th - July 3

    Session 1-2014
    Registration opens April 15th.
    Session dates: August 11 - September 25

    Session 2-2014
    Registration opens September 1st.
    Session dates October 20th - December 11 (Thanksgiving week off)

    Session 3-2014
    Registration opens November 10th.
    Session dates January 6th - February 20th

    Session 4-2014
    Registration opens January 27th.
    Session dates March 24 - May 7